The 7 Best Music Videos from RuPaul’s Drag Race Contestants

7. Willam, Detox, and Vicky Vox – Boy is a Bottom

Even though Vicky Vox was never on RuPaul’s Drag Race, both Willam and Detox were (and Willam had the most controversial exit from the show). This video is a parody of “This Girl is on Fire” by Alicia Keys. It has a great concept, it’s hilarious, and it features great singing (mostly from Willam). The video is cute and fun to watch, so it made the list as my 7th favourite video from former Drag Race contestants.

6. Alaska Thunderfuck – Your Makeup is Terrible

What kind of music video list would this be without Alaska? Along with Adore Delano, Alaska is probably the most famous drag queen from RuPaul’s Drag Race in the music department. However, unlike Adore (don’t kill me, Adore fans), I find Alaska innovative, interesting, and highly meta. “Your Makeup is Terrible” reminds me of Lady Gaga’s “Bad Romance” video with its visual style, but I find it even more absurd with Alaska’s over-the-top satirical rendition of Gaga’s style and dance music in general. While Alaska’s other videos, such as “Puppet,” “Nails,” and “Gimme All Your Money (ft. Laganja Estranja) were also great contenders for this list, I ultimately chose this one because it is arguably Alaska’s most defining song and video.

5. Alaska, Courtney Act, and Willam – Dear Santa, Bring Me a Man

Now, I couldn’t have a music video list without putting at least one Christmas song in it. There were many other great contenders (most notably Alaska’s “Every Day is Christmas”), but I chose Alaska, Courtney, and Willam’s “Dear Santa, Bring Me a Man.” I am in love with Courtney’s and Willam’s vocals in this video and found this to be a cute and sexy Christmas-themed music video.

4. Manila Luzon – Hot Couture

When I first heard this song on an automatic playlist without watching the video, I legitimately thought I was listening to RuPaul himself. However, when I actually watched it, I was pleasantly surprised to see Manila Luzon at her best. Her outfits in this video are on point and the little boy who plays the young Manila is adorable. This is just a great song and video all around.

3. Miss Fame – Rubber Doll

Miss Fame didn’t make it as far in the competition as I thought she should have, but this video proves that she is crown-worthy. “Rubber Doll” is a highly entertaining, provocative, and sensual video that is paired up with a catchy pop beat that is worthy of being on the Top 40 hits list. However, Miss Fame’s gender-bending and deviantly sexual video is anything but conventional. It makes the viewer question the difference between real vs. fake, dominant vs. submissive, and natural vs. plastic bodies. By blurring these lines, Miss Fame highlights the prevalence of cosmetic surgery in our contemporary society in ways that the Top 40 hits could only dream of doing. Bravo, Miss Fame, bravo.

2. Raja – Diamond Crowned Queen

While this song is not necessarily the most pleasing to the ears (although I love the bridge, which consists mostly of Raja moaning), this video is still in my top 2 for several reasons. Firstly, I acknowledge that I am very biased towards this video because Raja and Raven are two of my all-time favourite queens and they’re both in it. Secondly, seeing Raja and Raven embrace and make out in this video gives me life. Finally, it’s just really hot. This video is definitely NSFW. It just screams the essence of Raja and Raven… sex.

1. Violet Chachki – Bettie

At the top of my list of my favourite music videos of all time from former RuPaul’s Drag Queen contestants is Violet Chachki’s “Bettie.” This. Video. Is. Incredible. It is not only fun to watch, but it is also very clever, and I cannot resist an intelligently-crafted video. This video presents you with a myriad of gender stereotypes as Violet appears in a 50’s housewife outfit. It then proceeds to break all of these stereotypes and bends your mind with vivid S&M scenes, expanding your understanding of gender, beauty, and sex. Every frame is placed strategically to make you question the construction of gender and sexuality. All I can do when I watch it is clap and say to myself, “Great job, Violet. This is brilliant.”

Leave a Reply

