Top 6 RuPaul Songs

1. Sissy that Walk

Season 6’s Final 4 song, Sissy That Walk, is commonly recognized as one of the best RuPaul songs. With its catchy beat and intoxicating synths,¬†this song makes you body dance almost as if it has a mind of its own. Plus, a lot of favourites are in the video (minus Darien Lake – why was she there again?).

2. Jealous of My Boogie

With a fantastic 80’s disco feel, Season 2’s Final 3 song, Jealous of My Boogie, is the second RuPaul hit on my list because of three main reasons: 1) It’s the catchiest song; 2) The video is hilarious; and 3) Raven (my all-time favourite drag queen) is in it. I love me some wig-pulling cat fights, RuPaul slaps, and¬†Rujubee.

3. Superstar

Superstar is the hit single from RuPaul’s popular album, Glamazon, as well as a song from one of the challenges in Season 3. This song is powerful because of its positive, uplifting words and its awesome melody. It flows well from the verses to the chorus to the epic key change. Superstar a great song through and through.

4. If I Dream

Now, if Superstar is uplifting, then If I Dream is inspirational. It’s difficult to listen to this song and its empowering lyrics without shedding a tear. It also reminds many of the beloved Season 6 winner, Bianca Del Rio, who was crowned to this song. A beautiful song that is as close to a ballad as RuPaul can get, If I Dream is one of my all-time favourites.

5. Born Naked (Original)

Even though this song and the season in which it was featured are not usually recognized as favourites, I love them both. Season 7’s Final 3 song, Born Naked, is a powerful song about gender performativity. The famous line, “We’re all born naked and the rest is drag,” reminds me of Judith Butler and the academic nerd in me loves it.

6. Glamazon

I was going to keep this list as a top 5, but I just couldn’t keep Glamazon off of it. As Season 4’s Final 3 song, Glamazon sounds fierce and fun. The video includes Sharon Needles, one of the most beloved winners of RuPaul’s Drag Race of all time, and the flawless Chad Michaels (and let’s not talk about the third one). This song is great and its video is even better. It gives you Japanese Godzilla video game realness.

Leave a Reply

