Lush Face Masks – Review

Alright, so I’ve been an avid Lushie for over a year now (I know, I’m late to the party). Over the past year, I’ve been trying out a bunch of their products and have loved almost every single one of them. Lush is an incredible company that offers many ethically-sourced, fair trade, cruelty free, vegan, etc. options for cosmetics lovers. It also has this great loyalty system for its customers – if you bring back 5 empty Lush pots, you get one fresh face mask for free. As I became a frequent Lush customer, I’ve begun to take advantage of this loyalty system and ended up trying out about half of the face masks that Lush has to offer. Therefore, I’m going to be doing a review of all of the Lush face masks that I’ve tried so far. Without further ado, here we go…

Ayesha

This was the first Lush face mask that I tried. The smell was definitely not pleasant and quite deterring actually (it smells like a strange mix of vegetables, probably because of the asparagus in it). However, I was quite impressed with the tightening effect that it had on my skin. Since this face mask is intended for aging skin and is supposed to produce a firming effect, it certainly did its job. However, other than the tightening of my skin, it didn’t really do much else. It didn’t seem to visibly make my skin less red or less blemished. Overall, this was an alright face mask, but it wasn’t good enough for me to make a repurchase. Therefore, the next time that I collected 5 empty Lush pots, I decided to try another one.

Catastrophe Cosmetic

After trying the Ayesha face mask and deciding that it wasn’t for me, I did a bit of research into the general consensus on which Lush face masks are considered the best. I also specifically focused on which ones would work well for my skin type. My skin can generally be described as sensitive, slightly oily in the T-zone area, and somewhat prone to redness. However, I don’t really have problems with dryness or acne (thankfully). To soothe sensitive skin like mine, a lot of people suggested getting a face mask with calamine, rose, and chamomile. That’s when I zeroed in on the Catastrophe Cosmetic fresh face mask. Packed with all of the above ingredients along with blueberries (it smelled fantastic!), this face mask was very promising. However, once I actually tried it, I noticed a couple of issues. Firstly, this face mask is quite thick and therefore difficult to apply. Secondly, it crumbles… a lot. Once it dries, it’s actually quite difficult to make even the slightest of movements without it falling off of your face onto your clothes or your floor. Finally, it didn’t really do much for my skin. This was the most disappointing aspect since I’ve read rave reviews about how magical this face mask is for your skin. Maybe it does the job for people with active breakouts, which don’t happen to me often. However, I was not impressed with the lack of effects that it had on my skin and decided to try another face mask next time.

Mask of Magnaminty

The Mask of Magnaminty is hands-down Lush’s most popular face mask. Available in a regular and a self-preserving form, this face mask lasts longer than most of the others. It also doesn’t have to be refrigerated like the other face masks (besides the Cup o’ Coffee, which can also be stored at room temperature). I actually tried the self-preserving one first, which is made with significantly more honey than the original. The lack of preservatives as well as the honey, which is very soothing for the skin, seemed appealing to me. However, I didn’t find the self-preserving version of the mask to be as good at cleaning out my pores as the regular one, which is a common outcome (hence the less positive reviews on Lush’s website). I was looking for a face mask that could clean out my pores and exfoliate my skin while not being too harsh or abrasive, and I can’t say that I was disappointed. The peppermint oil and the aduki beans in the Mask of Magnaminty made for a good cleansing and exfoliating experience. Nevertheless, I didn’t feel that there was a noticeable enough difference in my skin at the end of the day for me to keep repurchasing it. So far it was the best face mask from Lush that I’ve tried, but I was looking for something even more well-suited for my skin. After giving both versions of the acclaimed Mask of Magnaminty a try, I continued my search for the perfect Lush face mask for me.

Love Lettuce

Known as the balancing face mask, Love Lettuce is filled with lavender, honey, and almonds to sooth your skin while getting rid of excess oil. This seemed perfect for me, especially because I’ve always had good experiences with lavender in the past. Lavender does wonders for sensitive skin, helping decrease redness and blemishes. When I tried this face mask on, I found the smell to be very calming and refreshing. Since it smelled quite strongly of lavender (like a less sweet version of the Twilight scent), it helped me relax before bed. However, there was one issue with the face mask that I couldn’t get over. When you rinse it off, it leaves a very oily residue on your skin, and the oil cannot simply be removed with just water – I had to use my facial cleanser to get rid of it. Even though this oily residue is probably supposed to be kept on your face to soften your skin, it just bothered me because I like the feeling of a clean face after I remove a face mask. My face did seem to have a slight improvement in terms of redness and softness, but I decided to keep searching for the right face mask for me.

Cup o’ Coffee

Image result for lush face mask cup o' coffee

This face mask, like the Mask of Magnaminty, is much more long-lasting than the rest of the face masks. You don’t need to store it in a fridge (room temperature will do). This mask appealed to me because of its scrubbing and exfoliating capabilities. It is advertised as a mask that you can use for not only your face but also your body. While you can do this with other face masks too (I’ve tried it with the Mask of Magnaminty), this one probably makes the most sense as a body scrub. The reason for this is that it doesn’t ever really dry like the other face masks do, making it seem more like a scrub rather than simply a mask. I also love the smell of coffee, and Cup o’ Coffee has a very strong coffee scent (so try it if you love coffee but stay away from it if you hate it). I wanted to love this face mask, but when I tried it on my face, I ended up disappointed. It was the only face mask out of the ones that I’ve tried so far that made my skin actually get worse. It increased my redness, which was something that deterred me from it. I actually still have this face mask (I’ve had it for almost two months now), but I now use it exclusively on my body.

Don’t Look at Me

Don't Look at Me.jpg

Next, I tried Don’t Look at Me, one of the newest Lush face masks. Because it is newer than most of the others, it costs a bit more. However, since I’ve been getting a free face mask after returning 5 Lush pots, it’s the best deal. This face mask is by far the most exfoliating out of all of the face masks that I’ve used. It has ground rice, which scrubs your skin when you wash it off of your face, murumuru butter and organic silken tofu to soften your skin, and lemon juice to cleanse your skin. This seems like a winning combination. However, there were two aspects of this face mask that made it less great than expected. Firstly, the smell was not particularly appealing to me because it was very strong and citrusy. While I do appreciate citrus scents (Celebrate is one of my all-time favourite Lush scents), this face mask smells more like Lush’s Bohemian or Sandstone soaps (a lemon rather than an orange scent) but even stronger. While it doesn’t smell as bad as Ayesha, it isn’t my cup of tea. Citrus lovers who specifically like lemon-scented things will appreciate this one. The second issue that I had with Don’t Look at Me is the same kind of oily residue that made me give up on Love Lettuce. Once again, I had to use a facial cleanser to fully rinse it off of my skin. This was a disappointment because, like I said previously, I want my skin feeling clean after I rinse off a face mask.

Rosy Cheeks

rosy-cheeks

That brings me to the final face mask that I tried – Rosy Cheeks. This mask is also one of the newest ones and therefore costs the same price as Don’t Look at Me. However, the slightly elevated price is worth it because it is by far the best one for my skin out of the ones that I’ve tried so far. Packed with calamine and Turkish rose oil, this face mask promised to deliver what Catastrophe Cosmetic failed to give my skin – a soothing break from redness and irritation – and it did just that. Finally, out of all of the face masks that I tried, there was a noticeable difference in my skin. After one try, my face felt smoother and my complexion was more balanced. I was very pleased with the results. The standout feature that I believe makes this face mask better for my face than any of the other ones is the specific type of kaolin clay in it. While most (if not all) of the other face masks also contain kaolin, the one in Rosy Cheeks is the pink form of kaolin clay. Pink kaolin is a mix of white and red kaolin that is known for eliminating excess oil, toxins, and irritation from the skin. Rosy Cheeks has both the kaolin that is used in all of the other face masks as well as what Lush calls “Rose Clay” or “Kaolinite,” which is this magical pink clay. As the only Lush face mask that I have ever repurchased, Rosy Cheeks is by far my favourite (plus, it smells just like real, fresh roses too!).

Here is my ranking so far:

1. Rosy Cheeks

2. Mask of Magnaminty (regular, then self-preserving)

3. Love Lettuce

4. Don’t Look at Me

5. Catastrophe Cosmetic

6. Ayesha

7. Cup o’ Coffee

Stay tuned for updates as I try out the rest of Lush’s face mask collection.

Leave a Reply

